Writing horror and toxic yuri
Written March 22 2026
Okay, so, some of my friends and I decided to do like a little horror writing jam (we said creepypasta, but it’s really horror more generally). We set ourselves a time limit (one and a half months) and a word count limit (5 k; the Nebula Awards’ 7.5 k word limit seemed just a smidgen too much to share them all in a single evening once we were done) and started writing horror short stories with the intent of sharing them later. We already did this once (I wrote this one; it’s not very good) and it’s incredibly fun. It also got me really motivated to write and actually finish something. I’ve already written two stories, am in the process of editing a third and plan on writing a fourth, all in the span of like one and a half weeks (you’ll have to wait until the end of April for me to upload them, though; trade secrets and all).
I didn’t really stick to the ‘traditional’ creepypasta formula at all. I do have a soft spot in my heart for them (the Russian Sleep Experiment one scared the shit out of me as a child and all the way up until the point I learned that people have routinely stayed up for longer than that and were basically fine), but I also just do not vibe with the style of creepypastas in some kind of way; I like it, especially the crpytid/urban legend aspect of it, but I do not want or like to write it. Instead, I’ve written about subjects that really move me, like lesbians and the terrible things they can do to each other. Most of the have been about just absolutely terrible lesbians or suffering lesbians or both. And that’s really fun to write about! I should have started doing that way sooner.
I’ve also started, let’s say, indulging in more toxic yuri. My girlfriend and I started playing Class of ‘09 and the two Ari routes in The Re-Up really had an impact on me. Like, I kept thinking about them for days. You’re either being straight up cruel to a gay teenage girl, enough to turn her straight, or, in the other route, try to help her and she guilt-trips you into being her girlfriend. It’s amazing. I think that unlocked whole new dopamine receptors in my brain. Anyway, I’ve slowly been dipping my toes into the endless wellspring that is toxic yuri manga and I’m really loving it so far. I would never want to experience such dysfunctional, codependent, or straight-up abusive relationships for myself, but I just find the dynamics really interesting to observe. It impacts me emotionally way more than any fluff fic ever could. Last night, I read a great one about a girl with, like, really bad dependent personality disorder and how she tried to help a classmate who then felt guilty because of the attention she was getting from her. Ultimately, I hope they both get help and get better (hopefully together), but it’s also just real interesting to watch play out. It leads to interesting stories, is what I’m trying to say. And it makes for good inspiration for my own terrible lesbians. Anyway, good night.
